Paula Matthusen is a composer who writes both electroacoustic and acoustic music and realizes sound installations. In addition to writing for a variety of different ensembles, she also collaborates with choreographers and theater companies. She has written for diverse instrumentations, such as “run-on sentence of the pavement” for piano, ping-pong balls, and electronics, which Alex Ross of The New Yorker noted as being “entrancing”. Her work often considers discrepancies in musical space—real, imagined, and remembered.

Her music has been performed by Dither, Mantra Percussion, the Bang On A Can All-Stars, Alarm Will Sound, International Contemporary Ensemble (ICE), orchest de ereprijs, The Glass Farm Ensemble, the Estonian National Ballet, James Moore, Kathryn Woodard, Todd Reynolds, Kathleen Supové, Margaret Lancaster and Jody Redhage. Her work has been performed at numerous venues and festivals in America and Europe, including the Tanglewood Festival of Contemporary Music, the MusicNOW Series of the Chicago Symphony Orchestra, the Ecstatic Music Festival, Other Minds, the MATA Festival, Merkin Concert Hall, the Aspen Music Festival, Bang on a Can Summer Institute of Music at MassMoCA, the Gaudeamus New Music Week, SEAMUS, International Computer Music Conference and Dither’s Invisible Dog Extravaganza. She performs frequently with Object Collection, and through the theater company Kinderdeutsch Projekts.

Awards include the Walter Hinrichsen Award from the American Academy of Arts and Letters, a Fulbright Grant, two ASCAP Morton Gould Young Composers’ Awards, First Prize in the Young Composers’ Meeting Composition Competition, the MacCracken and Langley Ryan Fellowship, the “New Genre Prize” from the IAWM Search for New Music, and recently the 2014 Elliott Carter Rome Prize. Matthusen has also held residencies at The MacDowell Colony, Yaddo, create@iEar at Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute, STEIM, and the Atlantic Center for the Arts. Matthusen completed her Ph.D. at New York University – GSAS. She was Director of Music Technology at Florida International University for four years, where she founded the FLEA Laptop Ensemble. Matthusen is currently Associate Professor of Music at Wesleyan University, where she teaches experimental music, composition, and music technology.

News archive

22 Nov 2014
“Come Together”

Performing live-electronics alongside Abinadi Meza as part of “Come Together” – a series of events linked at MAXXI (Rome) as part of their exhibit Open Museum Open City. More documentation available here.

16 Nov 2014
Nuova Consonanza

“in absentia” and “of minutiae and memory” to be performed as part of the marathon concerts of Festa d’Autunno of Nuova Consonanza at Villa Aurelia (American Academy in Rome)!

10 Oct 2014
lathyrus at KTH R1

Kungliga Musikhögskolan’s Live Electronics Ensemble is joined by Dirty Electronics Ensemble for an ight of live-electronics merriment. “lathyrus” to be performed as part of the mix! The performance takes place at KTH R1 Experimental Performance Space (Stockholm) at 7:00 p.m.

5 Sep 2014
Dither Extravangza!

The incredible Dither Extravaganza strikes again with an incredible array of music and performances from 6:00 p.m. until midnight. Excited that Wil Smith will be performing “of architecture and accumulation” as part of the evening’s events!

Cage’s Song Books @ Avant Media Festival

As part of the celebration of Cage’s 102nd birthday, the Avant Media Festival is presenting a performance of Cage’s Song Books at the Wild Space! Delighted to be contributing some live-electronics to the incredible roster of musicians involved. Show starts at 8:00 p.m.

26 Aug 2014
Alessandra Novaga premieres “collaborating objects”

In celebration of the release of her album LES CHAMBRE DES JEUX SONORES, guitar vituoso Alessandra Novaga, premieres collaborating objects for prepared electric guitar and radios at Spectrum (NYC) at 8:00 p.m. The album features works by Travis Just, Sandro Mussida, Vittorio Zago, and Francesco Gagliardi.

24 Jun 2014
OZET @ Incubator Arts Project

Performing live-electronics for the upcoming OZET production at Incubator Arts Project; June 24 – 29.

22 Jun 2014
“ontology of an echo” at the Bang On A Can Marathon!

The Bang On A Can All-Stars perform ontology of an echo at the upcoming marathon on June 22nd at Winter Garden! The work was originally written for the All-Stars as part of Field Recordings and the People’s Comissioning Fund.

14 Jun 2014
12 Nights!

Performing all lengths in between perhaps at 12 Nights (Miami, FL). Performing the set twice, once indoors at 6:00 p.m., and then outdoors at 9:00 p.m. at the Harold Golen Gallery. Happily sharing the evening with Andie Springer and Erik DeLuca.

2 May 2014
Toneburst Electroextravagnza

The Toneburst Laptop Ensemble performs its yearly Electroextraganza, featuring new works written for the ensemble by its members, as well as pieces repertoire cultivated throughout the semester. Stay tuned for more program details. Show begins at 8:00 p.m., in World Music Hall, Wesleyan University.

21 Apr 2014
MATA Festival with Mantra Percussion

Performing “the days are nouns” at the MATA Festival with Mantra Percussion an Jamie Jordan!

15 Apr 2014
Red Night – Object Collection at the Stone

Performing with Fulya Peker, Daniel Allen Nelson, Travis Just, and Aaron Meicht in a piece directed by Kara Feely at the Stone at 8:00 p.m. More information available here.

10 Apr 2014
NYU Colloquium

Presenting as part of a panel discussion alongside Martin Brody (keynote), Jenny Olivia Johnson, and Jamie Oliver. Event begins at 5:00 p.m., with more information available here.

3 Apr 2014
Object Collection, Robert Ashley, Frontiers Festival

Object Collection performs the UK premiere of their rendition of Robert Ashley’s Automatic Writing (1979) at the Frontiers Festival! Show starts at 7:00 p.m.

30 Mar 2014
Object Collection performs Robert Ashley’s Automatic Writing

Object Collection performs their adaptation of Robert Ashley’s Automatic Writing (1979). The new adaptation features Travis Just, Kara Feely, Fulya Peker, Quentin Tomlimieri, Aaron Meicht, and myself with programming and electronics. The show is at 8:00 p.m. at Cafe OTO, and more information about the adaptation is available on Object Collection’s web site.